Parish Council

Alston Moor Parish Council is made up of locally elected residents and as the first tier of local government is the first point of contact for anyone with concerns on a community issue. Alston Moor Parish Council has an office located in Alston Town Hall and employs a part time Parish Clerk.

The Parish Council meetings are normally held the first Monday of every month. The meetings usually start at 7pm and are open to the public from 6.45pm to view planning applications. Members of the public are encouraged and welcome to attend meetings and can speak on community issues for up to five mintues.

To DOWNLOAD documents for recent meetings:

Details of forthcoming Parish Council meetings can be found on the Community Calendar.

The council is made up of 15 councillors, 8 representing Alston, 4 representing Nenthead and 3 representing Garrigill. The current Parish Councillors for Alston Moor are:

Alston Councillors:

Robert Athey, Pat Godwin, John Glendinning, Alix Martin, Raymond Miller, Alastair Robertson, Rachael Thomson, Gary Wright

Nenthead Councillors:

Brian Aves, Matthew Herdman, Dick Phillips, Rowan Thompson

Garrigill Councillors:

Alan Green, Elaine Grew, Tim Haldon

Parish councils have a wide range of powers including looking after community buildings and planning. They also have the power to raise money through council tax. You can also find out more about the role of Parish Councils from the Cumbria Association for Local Councils, as well as how to become a parish councillor and what's involved in the role.

See the full Alston Moor Parish Profile from the 2011 Census.

Alston Moor parish profile




Contact Details
Chris Johnson
Parish Clerk
Town Hall
01434 382076
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.